Rue du Palais
17000 LA ROCHELLE
Rebuilt in the 18th century on the site of the former Courthouse erected by Henry IV, it was completed at the beginning of the Revolution which, after scraping away the fleur-de-lys, inscribed the still visible inscription on the façade: "Temple of Justice under the reign of Liberty and Equality, year II of the French Republic". It has a delicately ornamented Corinthian-style façade with powerful columns rising in a single burst to the entablature. Inside, a brick and stone corridor and several pediment doors remain from the original construction in 1604. This building deserves a step back to be fully appreciated. However, it occupies its place naturally thanks to the porches it has been provided with.